Love sees no color

image

Keep in mind my blog is not only about me being a mom its about everything that led me to being a mom and then some.  I post what’s on my mind and what’s in my heart at that time and today how my blended, interracial family came about is what is on my mind.  With all the hate I see between races on social media I look at my beautiful mixed family and think of how lost I’d be without them and how grateful I am to have them just as they are. 

Almost 6 years ago I was in a terrible place in my life. I was partying all the time drinking almost every night. June of 2010 I found out I had to come home and I wouldn’t be able to finish college due to our financial situation and my school was costing roughly $85,000 a year. I let it be what it was and “took a break” well that’s what I called it lol.  I actually just went clubbing and drank all the time. To this day I will not lie or candy coat my life, I made the decisions I did and I learned from my mistakes.  I wasn’t perfect I battled with my own demons for years and I used different things to cope with my problems. Which maybe one day ill go into the back story of that but not this time. Back to June 2010 at the end of June I was home doing whatever, well One day my step father called to let my mom know that their friends son was coming over he wanted to see her because he was home from the military. I remember the butterflies started to flutter again, see I had a crush on this guy since I was 10 years old. I remember telling my best friend at the time Im going to marry that boy One day.  I was always so shy around him One year I bought him a watch and wrote him a 4 page letter telling him how much I liked him lol he blew me off :'(:'(:'(. Then when I was 14-15 I found out he was having a baby with his girlfriend at the time and at that point I figured I’d never get a chance so I let it be.  BTW he was 3-4 years older than me.

image

When I was 15-16 I found out they broke up but I didn’t give it a second thought, it was what it was. Sometime during highschool he called my step dad asking if he could take me on a date my step dad of course said no BTW I didn’t talk to him for a week lol.  When I was about 17-18 I found out all around the same time that he had gotten married and that he was in a coma and they didn’t know if he was going to make it. I felt like my world was crashing down around me I cried for weeks.  Some months down the line I found out he came out of a coma but he had a lot of work ahead of him. Fast forward to 2010 he walked up to the front door and I remember blushing so hard when I opened it (could it be the man of my dreams for years is standing in our kitchen single) it was kind of awkward for a moment.  We all sat down and we talked and we laugh, I cooked brownies And we ran around the house chasing each other with the batter.  That was Just the beginning of us.  Im not going to go through our whole 6 years together but I will explain why my topic is what it is.  Love has no color this Man and his son changed my whole life for the better, they made me want to be a better person. They helped me out of such a dark place with all the Love they showed me. I remember when we first started dating and people would ask his son if I was his mom I never got offended because I never wanted to take his moms place she’s a great mother but he would smile and say no thats MY CHRISSY it always made my heart melt.

image

I still to this day battle with myself but when I look at how far my relationship has come despite all the difference we have just because of the color of our skin. We argued once about racial jokes, we have gotten looks because of our color difference, we have battled with family member because of our color difference. There are a ton of things we have been through in our relationship that probably would have never come up if we were the same race but we aren’t and for us that is perfectly OK because Love sees NO COLOR

image

We have been through a lot together. We have taken breaks from one another but we are always drawn back to each other. We are so opposite yet so similar, we do the best we can as individuals and hope that it’s enough to get us through as a couple because before you can ever love someone else fully you have to love yourself and let me tell you before this Man and his son I didn’t love myself. They gave me so much more and opened my eyes to what I can be and what I wanted to be. Now almost 6 years later my love for them has only grown I thank our son & his mom every day because without him I would never be the mother I am today. Life teaches you a lot and if you listen it will give you so much joy and happiness. Ill go more into coparenting in another post :):):). These 6 years have brought us joy, heartache, happiness etc I wouldn’t have it any other way.  I have gotten to welcome a beautiful baby girl into the world with the Man of my dreams and soon we will be welcoming another son into the mix :):):).

image

image

We laugh, we cry,  we get mad,  we yell,  we love,  we break up,  we get back together,  my love doesn’t see that his skin color is different from mine my love sees the passion and honesty in his eyes. My love sees into his soul that’s pure and fragile just like mine.  My love sees the amazing father he is to our kids.  So no my love doesn’t see color. My love sees a man that will climb any mountain, cross any sea just to make sure his family is safe & Happy.  That is my LOVE.

Please don’t get it confused we aren’t this perfect couple lol we argue like nobodys business but here lately we have found alternatives like actually communicating with one another and not assuming things.

All art is designed/created by my fiance.

Leave a Reply

