Homeschooling Celiyna week 1

So this week has been super busy for my little princess and I. We have started homeschooling this week on top of I am proud to say she is potty trained!! First off I am very happy I was able to potty train her in less than a week :). No more diapers well until Jackson gets here 😂😂. So why have I decided to go ahead and “homeschool” my daughter? First off the way her birthday falls school is already going on so no place will take her until August plus once she does start school I will be hopefully be putting her in a private school.   So why not just wait until she goes to school? That is what schools are for Right?  Wrong children learn from home first even if you don’t teach them they pick up what they hear and see.  So why not let that be a positive learning experience. I have become a Usborne Books & More consultant which has given me a great chance to start my kids there own little library which will continue to grow.  For more information about Usborne books & more contact me.

image

Back on the subject homeschooling so my princess is really smart I know everyone thinks their kid is the best because it’s their kid but what I mean by her being smart is she retains a lot of information especially for her age.  Her doctor was very surprised by her level of vocabulary, how well she can hold a pencil (which I didn’t know was a big deal lol) and just the way she speaks. Her doctor was surprised because she speaks better than most 5 year olds that come to visit the doctor.  I contribute that to the fact that even as a baby I would make sure to pronounce things correctly and even correct her when she pronounced something wrong.

A lot of people are probably thinking wow thats cruel or Who corrects a child that is learning….well I do because if you don’t tell them the Right way they won’t learn and due to me correcting her not in a rude way but in a loving parenting way and not speaking “baby talk” to her she knows how to speak properly of course not she has flaws in her speech but those are things we work on. I wanted to start from the beginning with her schooling I didn’t want to over work her so I made each lesson simple not to long it doesn’t take up our whole day. You do what works best for you and your child of course but for us it works best to keep it 2hrs and under. My child is exactly like her uncle if she starts getting bored youv lost her.

So week one we worked on the Letter A, the Number 1, the color Red and Circles for the shape of the week.  We also talked about how God created light. We reviewed these things all week with different activities and a few games.

image

She loves the homeschooling even on her days off she wants to Learn but I give her Friday, Saturday & Sunday to rest Her mind and Monday we go back to it.

image

Here are the things I used for week 1, I took pages out of the preschool book that you can purchase at Walmart. I took pages out for the letter A for her to work on.

image

When it came to writing and tracing I didn’t push her because I know it will come with practice. I mostly just wanted her to be able to identify what letter it is and the difference between the uppercase and lowercase. We also went over the whole alphabet when we did our A part of the lesson. As in I slowed down the alphabet song and helped her properly pronounce each letter.  We also identified things that start with the letter A.  Which is why we picked out the Usborne astronaut book (which I do not recommend chapter books) 

image

But her brothers chapter book and a deadly animals book (which scared the poop out of her)  were the only A books we had lol like I said we are in the process of building them their own little library. We also worked on the color red, for anyone that know my daughter she knows her colors she has known them for a while this part of her lesson was a breeze but it was when I started to introduce two colors making another she was very excited I didn’t take pictures but I used ketchup for the red and mustard for the yellow and let her mix them to see that they make orange.  Now I used that but you can use food coloring or even paint.

image

We also learned how to cut with scissors (child safety scissors) don’t worry and we also went over safety tips for using scissors. We learned to use glue as well and I taught her that old saying just a dot not a lot lol she loves to say it as she puts glue on the paper.  All the worksheets I used are out of the preschool book I posted earlier in the post.  If you look closely you’ll see on each paper at the top it will say a day Monday-Thursday and we worked on that paper that day. 

image

As far as shapes go its the same as colors my daughter pretty much knows her shapes can identify them very well so once again this part of our lesson went pretty quick. I also added in a sensory game for her that I saw on another mommy blog.  I put dry beans in a medium sized mixing bowl(circle) And put a few of her apples with words on them in it and she dug in it to find the words. I didn’t understand why a child would like this but to my surprise she loved it.

image

We also used flash cards to help her identify the letter A which you can also purchase at Walmart. The apple words game can be purchased at Walmart also.

image

I took all the A’s out to go with the lesson for the week and that’s what we worked with. We also went over simple top to bottom prewriting. I only had her do one line per day. As in a full left to Right line on Monday and so on for the other days lol.

image

We went over the number One. Once again counting has not been a problem for my daughter for a while she can count up to 25 but I wanted to go deeper into numbers with her because it’s awesome she can count but what good is counting if she can’t identify the number she is counting.  We also went over how many times there were. I never went over two items just so she could understand the difference in what one item looks like verse what multiple items look like. She also traced the numbers but just remember what I said earlier I didn’t focus on her writing that will come the more we practice.

image

Now as far as teaching about god creating light. I made it simple I went over briefly who god was to us, how important he is,  where we go when we die, And what we turn into (angels which starts with a….A) lol I told her on the first day god created light I covered her eyes and asked what she saw she said nothing lol I pulled my hands away and told her god created light so we were always in the dark. To me for a child of her age that is enough :). There are little light dark activities you could do so find what works best for you if you decide to out this in your lesson.  Every day before we started a new lesson we would go over the day before so I could see what she remembers and I would just add from there.  If by the end of her lesson she did Good she’d get a snack and a sticker (my kid is easy to please do what works best for yours). If she didn’t do go she would have to wait for her snack and received no sticker.  I would also place a sticker next to that day of the week if she did Good but if she didnt I would write a little note for myself so I could improve my plan and switch it up to something she’ll do better with.

image

This is homeschooling on a budget lol.  I use what I can find at home beside the few things I picked up when we took our son back to school shopping when it was all at a discount :). I will post her lessons at the end of every week.  I hope this can help and/or inspire other parents to start their kids education early even if you don’t think you have the materials for it grab some paper and a pen start there 🙂

image

Leave a Reply

